Tags

, ,

For those of you you have been reading and following my blog from the beginning, you know that I started it as part of my God-size dream for 2013. But let me back up for moment to when I was still trying to figure out what the heck I wanted to write to about.

You see, I had been wanting to start a blog ever since one of my best friends from college started one with her husband. It seemed like a great way to stay in touch and let people know what you were up to on a daily or weekly basis without feeling like a terrible friend for not picking up the phone.

I began thinking about what on earth my blog would focus on. Sure I wanted to have updates on my life (isn’t that kind of the underlying point of a blog?), but I also wanted it to have some unifying factor. For me that was to keep my writing style just like my voice. I wanted the blog to feel like I was sitting down with one of my closest friends for a heartfelt conversation about what happened or was happening that day.

If you lived in a sorority house like I did in college, every time you walked through the kitchen someone was having a heartfelt conversation that you couldn’t help but be drawn into. Ah, the essence of sisterhood…

So, I just started writing.

I pretended that MK, Erin or Sarah were reading my words and we were back at the house sharing stories and grumbling about the paper we hadn’t started. I was having a conversation with my friends, only this time my stories reflected life after college.

In the short period of time that I’ve been blogging, I’ve come to recognize that the key to being successful, and actually enjoying the process, is to write as if your talking to your closest friends. Your friends friends seek you out for a variety of reasons whether it be for your support, knowledge in your area of expertise or simply a great conversation about life. They come to you for your specific gifts and talents and so do those who read your blog.

Stay true to yourself in all endeavors. Whether it be a face to face conversation with your best friend or a new blog post. The joy that comes from being in complete accordance with who we’re meant to be is without comparison.

Happy Monday, friends!
Courtney

