Tags

, , , ,

While everyone is out with their beaux’s tonight sharing a bottle of wine and some decadent chocolate dessert… my Valentine’s day is spent at home, curled up, watching my favorite leading man on screen.

Cary Grant.

They just don’t make men like that anymore.

And Cary shines brilliantly alongside Deborah Kerr in an Affair to Remember.

I don’t know if any of you have seen the movie, but you need to. Go out and rent it this weekend. Seriously.

When I was a little girl, we always left for our annual family ski trip either on, or shortly after Valentine’s day. We would decorate sugar cookies in elementary school with our classmates and promptly be whisked away from school to catch our flight to the Wasatch Mountains. Mom and Dad always put together red and pink “goodie bags” to keep us entertained on the four hour flight to Salt Lake City.

When we got older, my sisters and I were greeted with chocolates, candies, handmade crystal bracelets (Mom’s artistry) and cards from our parents.

When I went away to school, packages arrived. Packages containing coffee mugs, chocolate, pink shirts and heart shaped mardi gras beads.

But what do I remember most about Valentine’s Day?

The tulips.

Pink and white tulips. There was at least one vase in every room.

You see, for me, Valentine’s day has never been a couple’s holiday. It’s simply been a celebration of love.

A love of the mountains. A love of my family. A love of Spring.

This year however, I think my sister and I are going to see Safe Haven. Josh Duhamel is the leading man. Enough said.

Cary, you’re still my leading man. Always.

Happy Valentine’s Day!
Courtney

