Last week I wrote a post about my God-sized dreams for 2013 and the wonderful blogger and author, Holley Gerth, encouraging us to share our journey’s towards those dreams. This week our challenge was to link up with someone who will help, encourage and keep us accountable to our dreams along the way!

Now, I must admit, I have the most wonderful and encouraging family and friends in the world. Trust me, if you met half of the ladies I went to college with (and one very special lady from high school!), you would know what I mean. I could call on anyone of them at a moments notice and know that they would have my back.

And yet, while I know I have the unwavering support of my family and very close friends, I still can’t shake that occasional feeling that I’m still alone in my pursuits. After much thought and prayer on the matter, I realized something… I felt alone, because I thought I had to accomplish everything on my own.

I had to find the perfect job on my own. I had to figure out how to move somewhere on my own. I had to figure everything out on my own.

You know what the pattern is in all that? I. Ego. It’s a “my way or the highway” attitude. No wonder I felt so alone!We weren’t meant to do anything in life on our own. God always brings us those we need.

I have a favorite quote I keep above my bed. I have no idea who said it or where it came from, but it reads like this:

God doesn’t give you the people you want.
He gives you the people you need:
to help you,
to hurt you,
to leave you,
to love you,
and to make you into the person you were meant to be.

Helpful, huh? I thought so too when I reread it.

Holley suggested that we reach out to fellow God-Sized Dreamers on her blog to find someone to support and share our dreams with this year. So yesterday I did just that. Her name is Sarah. She is still in college and is looking to fulfill her dream by becoming a missionary on her campus for fellow students. I’m excited to support and pray with her as she works towards fulfilling her dream this year and keeps me accountable to mine!

Always openly heartfelt,
Courtney

