As women, we’ve got our support group. And they come in all forms.  They could be your sisters (blood or sorority), best friends from high school, college roommates or, yes, even your mother.

They’re the one’s who always rally around us in our times of need… Just get dumped? They arrive at your door with red wine and every flavor of Haagen Dazs ice cream they can carry. Get promoted? They’re the first to raise a toast in your honor. Birthday celebration? No problem, they’ve already picked up your favorite (coconut!) cake. Need an ear to listen to your dreams? Grab your coffee and settle in next to the fire, girlfriend!

But what about those individuals in our corner who we don’t always think of?

Yesterday I called a former co-worker of mine to wish him a happy new year and say hello. He reminds me of Fred Astaire (looks just like him) and what the Life is Good mascot, Jake, would be like if he were a real person. The man just loves life. You can’t help but like him when you meet him.

As we chatted and caught up on the happenings of our various workplaces, I mentioned some of the career opportunities I had been exploring out west. Before I could so much as mention specifics, he was already asking to whom he should send a letter of recommendation to and would I like him to call as well.

Bill made sure to tell me I was to visit he and his wife over a cup of coffee the next time I was in their neck of the woods. And just before we hung up he made sure to tell me: “Careful what you ask for, kid. You just might get it.” I couldn’t help but smile and think that maybe I really could land my dream job.

How many people do you have like that in your life? The ones who really want to see you succeed and do well in life (besides your best friends and family)?

Always openly heartfelt,
Courtney

